Chemical Abstracts Database
Main database for Chemistry Research
This database requires a login and password and can only be used during specific hours; Mon. - Thurs. 5pm to 5am, Fri. 5 pm - Sat. 7 pm, and Sat. 10 pm - 5am Mon. Check with your Chemistry professor or Carol McCulley for login and password.
Start with broad terms and narrow for best results.
- Easy 'searchBasic, general information, simple search options.
- Advanced SearchUse to search names; chemical names, authors, or organizations.
- CAS Number SearchSpecific information on a compound.
- Need Full Text?See Periodicals@Linfield under Getting Full Text tab.
Comments (0)
More Research Databases
- EbscoHost DatabasesChoose from dozens of EbscoHost subject databases.
- Research Databases by SubjectAn even more comprehensive list of databases.
Biology and Chemistry
Math and Physics
Health, Medicine & Sport
Suggested Research Databases for Chemistry
- American Chemical Society (ACS) JournalsPDF full text 1997-current
- Web of Science1990-current
Use Cited Reference Search link to find articles that have cited one you have (forward citations).
Use Links link to search for full text.
Questions?
How Do I Know If It's Scholarly?
Finding Credible Information About a Topic
Scholarly vs. popular journals: why choose scholarly?
- Your goal is to gather information from scholarly sources.
- You want timely, accurate information about your topic.
- You want your information written by a researcher/scholar in a peer reviewed journal.
- You want in depth information to educate yourself.
- You want references to lead you to other information about your topic.
How do I know if a journal is scholarly?
- Use a database that indexes only scholarly sources, like PubMed or Web of Science
- How to Distinguish Scholarly Journals from Other Periodicals
- Ulrich's International Periodical Directory (do a title search; check Document type to see if journal is popular or scholarly)
Evaluate web pages: anybody can publish anything on the web!

Loading...
