This is the "Articles" page of the "CHEM 330 Writing in Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

CHEM 330 Writing in Chemistry  

Last Updated: Feb 13, 2014 URL: http://linfield.libguides.com/writingchemistry Print Guide RSS Updates

Articles Print Page
  Search: 
 

Chemical Abstracts Database

Main database for Chemistry Research

This database requires a login and password and can only be used during specific hours; Mon. - Thurs. 5pm to 5am, Fri. 5 pm - Sat. 7 pm, and Sat. 10 pm - 5am Mon.  Check with your Chemistry professor or Carol McCulley for login and password.

Start with broad terms and narrow for best results.

  • Easy 'search
    Basic, general information, simple search options.
  • Advanced Search
    Use to search names; chemical names, authors, or organizations.
  • CAS Number Search
    Specific information on a compound.
  • ChemSpider
    Need to look up CAS (registry) number? Try here.
  • Need Full Text?
    See Ejournals A-Z under Getting Full Text tab or on the library homepage.

More Research Databases

Suggested Research Databases for Chemistry

  • American Chemical Society (ACS) Journals
    PDF full text 1997-current
  • Web of Science
    1990-current
    Use Cited Reference Search link to find articles that have cited one you have (forward citations).
    Use Links link to search for full text.
  • PubMed
    Biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. 1966-present
  • PubMed Tips
    How to use PubMed to find and get full text articles.

Google Scholar

Try Google scholar for more academic information.  Remember don't ever pay $$$ for articles! Find it via Linfield FREE.

  • How to Link Linfield College to Google Scholar on your computer to find more full text.   PDF or Video clip (1:00)
  • Check Ejournals A-Z for full text or Interlibrary Loans options.  Articles will arrive in your email within days.


 

How Do I Know If It's Scholarly?

 

Finding Credible Information About a Topic

Scholarly vs. popular journals: why choose scholarly?

  • Your goal is to gather information from scholarly sources.
  • You want timely, accurate information about your topic.
  • You want your information written by a researcher/scholar in a peer reviewed journal.
  • You want in depth information to educate yourself.
  • You want references to lead you to other information about your topic.

How do I know if a journal is scholarly?

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip