Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide with information about library resources for OCE students.
Online students have free access to myriad types of sources through the Linfield Libraries homepage including:
- Research databases that provide full-text access to articles or information about articles that can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.
- Ebooks accessible through the Linfield Libraries Search on the library's homepage
- Online encyclopedias available in a range of speciality subject areas
- Print books which can be mailed to students from the Linfield Libraries or through the Summit system from dozens of research libraries in the Pacific Northwest.
For more information on accessing these materials and more, see the tabs in this guide or contact Pat Love, Visiting Online Learning and User Experience Librarian.
Searching Linfield's Catalog
Linfield Libraries Search
Find books and articles at Linfield University, academic libraries regionally, and journals worldwide. ***More details and Tips
By default, results include:
Available - books, videos etc. on shelves at Linfield Libraries plus full text articles and E-Books online
Summit - Collections from dozens of regional academic libraries, with materials deliverable within 3-5 days.
Request Article - Articles not immediately available online, but requestable via Interlibrary loan. Articles can arrive from within hours to 1-2 days.
Limit searching using scopes:
- Linfield + Summit + Articles - books from Linfield and other Summit libraries PLUS articles from subscribed and freely available journals worldwide and even some websites, datasets and academic websites.
- Linfield + Summit - Includes Linfield Libraries physical (books, dvd's etc.) collections, e-books, and Summit
- Linfield Libraries - find books, videos, and other physical materials available at Linfield (inside the Portland or McMinnville campus libraries).
- Articles - search limits to articles from subscribed and freely available journals worldwide.
- Ebsco - focuses on articles from dozens of Ebsco databases. You can also search Ebsco and other databases individually via the Research Databases link on the left sidebar of the Libraries pages.
Where Should I Look for Information?
This video talks about some of the reasons that you might want to use library resources rather than a Google search. It also goes into the differences between searching our Online catalog, and going directly into our databases, and why you would choose to use one or the other (or both).
Research Pyramid created by Patrick Wohlmut at Linfield College. email@example.com
Visiting User Experience and Online Education Librarian