Music

A Library of Congress Digital Collection that includes hundreds of recordings, as well as “stock” arrangements for bands or small orchestras of popular songs written by African Americans, short biographies of composers and performers of the time, and historical essays

An online collection that brings together musical scores, recordings, photographs, and essays documenting an important but insufficiently explored part of the American musical past.

A website created and maintained by collector/researcher/writer Jonathan Ward, dedicated to sharing 78rpm recordings of folkloric and vernacular music from around the world

A streaming media website that makes available to the general public all of the data and many of the analyses of the research into the expressive arts carried out under the direction of Alan Lomax and the anthropologist Conrad Arensberg from 1960 to 1995 at Columbia University and Hunter College/CUNY. You will need to register to use this site, but it is free of charge.

Listen to this collection of 78rpm records, cylinder recordings, and other recordings from the early 20th century.

A Library of Congress Digital Collection presenting an ethnographic field collection documenting religious and secular music of Spanish-speaking residents of rural Northern New Mexico and Southern Colorado made in 1940.

Online resource list prepared by the Society for American Music.

The Jukebox includes recordings from the extraordinary collections of the Library of Congress National Audio-Visual Conservation Center and other contributing libraries and archives.

The Songs of America presentation allows you to explore American history as documented in the work of some of our country's greatest composers, poets, scholars, and performers.

The concert webcasts featured on this site provide an introduction to the extraordinary history of more than 3,000 events presented since the founding of the series by philanthropist Elizabeth Sprague Coolidge in 1925.

The Joe Smith Collection contains over 225 recordings of noted artists and executives and is a veritable who's who in the music industry.

A Library of Congress Digital Collection that includes 44 wax cylinder recordings made in the 1890s, as well as hundreds of songs and spoken-word segments from the 1983 Omaha harvest celebration pow-wow

Ragtime, a uniquely American, syncopated musical phenomenon, has been a strong presence in musical composition, entertainment, and scholarship for over a centur

Originally established in 2002 as a small project dedicated to the preservation of recorded Jewish music, it has matured into a robust digitization operation for all types of sound recordings.

Digital collection of more than 10,000 cylinder recordings held by the UC Santa Barbara Library, featuring all types of recordings made from the late 1800s to early 1900s, including popular songs, vaudeville acts, classical and operatic music, comedic monologues, ethnic and foreign recordings, speeches and readings